Question for those working in the computer science industry or related

• This post is more for those in the UK, but if you’re anywhere else your advice is still welcome!

I’m currently studying A Level Compsci, Maths and Chemistry. I aspire to study Software Engineering at University. Here is where my request comes in for advice:

I would like to prove that I am able to simply program, and I want to enhance my personal statement so it proves that I can do well as a software engineer. Would making a portfolio of my projects on a personal domain be worth it? I’ve got a personal domain and it wouldn’t be too much effort - it would also be something I can hand over to people to have a look into.

I really wanna do well for myself and I want to make sure I do things right. Any advice is appreciated!

• I think *it depends*. I think in all honesty if you're set on going to Uni, it'll make very little difference if you make it onto a grad scheme at a company but I would say having some sort of portfolio (Either custom domain or personally I suggest using LinkedIn to show work experience and projects) is no bad thing, and is good if in the future you want to do freelancer type work / similar.