I want to learn Java

• My tip is to be not be afraid of learning from others' code and googling errors (or even tasks you can't figure out to do) you get. Applies to all programming languages, not just Java. Sure, if you're doing that 5 years after learning Java, you've got an issue, but for learners and hobbyists that's the best way to learn. I've never taken those "Learn Java in 3 hours" or "Learn Java in 5 minutes" courses because I find them horrible resources to learn from. But, maybe those courses can help you. I personally can't recommend them.

• Don't get stuck in tutorial hell where you have no idea how to do anything outside of a tutorial. I'll admit that I've never followed a Java tutorial in my life and was self taught from the sorts of TFM back in the day. Realistically the best way to learn is however you learn best while trying to make something. Sure you don't have to make a particle accelerator simulator as your first project, but you could start with something basic like a USD currency converter or a to do list application or just contribute to Plex ezzz

• There are a million resources to learn any programming language you want, my advice is to just pick one that works for you and see it all the way through.

Also, if you have any knowledge with another language, then apply the logic to Java. Most programming languages use the same logic, just different syntax. Once you learn one, it becomes a lot easier to pick up others.