iPhone 13 Review + Discussion

• Introduction

This thread has been something I've been wanting to do for a while. In my original thread about which phone to choose, I changed my mind multiple times. I had made my final decision (or so I thought) and decided it would be the Samsung S20 FE. However, my mind still wasn’t so confident when I had made that choice. I didn’t buy the S20 FE. Instead, I bought the iPhone 13.

I would like to clarify that I don’t know much about phones, so if I get any facts wrong, please remember this. I'm also not great with large threads so I've kinda made a mini review.

Model Choice

I initially wanted to get the 128GB model, but this changed, and I went for the 256GB model instead. I’m a photographer with a DSLR and having those photos on a second device like my phone is useful but can be space-consuming.

I’ve chosen the blue model as it looked like one of the best colours. I’ve got a case on it and have had one on since the first day of using the phone.

Here's what it looks like:

Moving Data

As I already had an iPhone 6S, which had an iOS later than 11, I could easily move data from my 6S to my 13 over AirDrop. It just requires authentication on the devices via iCloud. I can’t remember the exact values, but around 64GB of data didn’t take long to transfer. The rest of the setup did take a bit of time, though.

Audio

One of the main pros about this phone is that it has an extra microphone, located underneath the higher camera. The benefit of this extra microphone is that it works well when one wants to do cinematography with the all-new cinematic mode on the 13 – more on that later. Also, on the iPhone 6S, my old phone, I had 2 speakers – one for calls coming through, and one underneath for other audio. This has changed on the 13, as both of the speakers output ‘other’ audio such as media. To me, this feature is brilliant as when I watch videos, the audio comes out like surround sound.

Accessibility